Skip to content
June 9, 2014 / swati

I married a Portuguese.

2013/06/27

Today while coming back from office – I met this guy. He was a tall, dark and handsome Portuguese, we fell in love, ran to a church and got married.

Ha! Just kidding.

So, today while coming back from office – I met this man who asked me for directions. I sensed a strong Bengali accent in his somewhat broken English and asked him where he was from. He happened to be from Bangladesh – and I ‘showed off’ the few Bengali sentences I’d learnt as a kid. So happy he was. I asked him if he was working in Zurich – he was just visiting some family but had been living in Portugal for the last 20 years or so because he married a Portuguese lady! I was quite curious about how he managed to do that while being in Bangladesh, and expressed my confusion in as mild as words I could put it in:

He laughed and said, “Oh my wife was a Bengali when I married her (of course!), but now she has become a complete Portuguese! (since we’ve been living in Portugal since so long!)”

Leave a Reply

